Gout is seriously painful

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Weight loss
Gout is seriously painful

This topic contains 9 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  darwins_monkey 7 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

• Hi guys, I’m new to the 5-2 diet and me and the wife are giving it a go. It’s been 2 weeks now and I’ve lost 6 pounds which I think is crazy as it’s not as difficult to do as I’d first thought. I’m 35 and started at 16 stone 5 pounds and was generally very unhealthy with eating rubbish and drinking lots of alcohol. I would buy a bottle of whisky and drink it within 3 days but yesterday got diagnosed with bloody gout which is easily the most painful thing I’ve ever experienced so a lifestyle overhaul is desperately needed. My wife doesn’t need to lose weight as she is beautiful inside and out but she still wants to drop a few pounds before our holiday. The whole gout thing has given me a kick up the arse about my health as it could easily lead to something more serious so I am going to stick with this plan but I would like some tips if possible from the more seasoned 5.2ers to make it more bearable. Anyone willing to give some tips?

Thanks for listening.

Mark

Hi Mark,

I haven’t experienced gout so don’t know exactly what it feels like, but I am currently recovering from a broken leg so I can empathize with your pain.

All I can say about 5:2 is if it seems difficult to accomplish at first, hang in there and keep going. It gets easier the more you do it. Even if you stumble and miss a fast day or eat too much on a fast day, don’t use it as an excuse to quit. Just move on and try to be successful on your next fast day.

I’ve been on different versions of 5:2 (kept tweaking it to suit me) since September 2015 and fasting has become part of my routine. Don’t know if this will be true for you, but in my case I don’t even think about food on fast days.