16:8 anyone?

This topic contains 103 replies, has 47 voices, and was last updated by  mjimba 3 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 50 posts - 1 through 50 (of 106 total)

• I’ve been doing 5:2 for a few months and have, honestly, found the fasting days a bit of a struggle – especially the afternoons have been tough :-).

I have now decided to try doing 16:8 instead, hoping that will be easier. My “eating window” will be from noon til 8 p.m., which means I will skip breakfast, have lunch with my colleagues at work, an afternoon snack and dinner with the family.

Has anybody else tried the 16:8 way of IF, and how is it working for you?

Did 5:2 for a few weeks then impatient to get more weight off then went to 4:3. I found it ok but am now experimenting with 20:4, 19:5 or 16:8
    I’ve found that once I get 14+ hours I can go 20.
    They all work , cos basically you’re getting into ‘fat burn’ after 12 hours ish. It just depends how quickly you want the weight off. However, I appreciate you situation and reckon 16:8 should work well for you.

My start weight was 95.2kg and in 12 weeks am at 83.2kg!! Target to BMI 24.9 for me is 73.9kg

BTW Have a read of ‘The 4 hour diet is better than the 8 hour diet’ by Edward J Walsh Pd D . Its on Amazon for less than 2 quid. (By 4 hour he means 20:4 and 8 hour is 16:8)
    Best wishes RickM

Hi 62Kilo,

I am Muslim and the fast of the month of Ramadan is like the 16/8.

Personally, i do not lose any weight during Ramadan, even if i fast every single day for one month. Most of the people around me are like that, some are losing a little bit, some other gain …

The important to lose weight is the caloric restriction. If you are able to limit yourself to 500 calories a day while doing 16/8, for sure, you will lose weight, but if you are eating as usual during the 8 hours, you will not. Don’t be deceive.

@rickm
    “The 4 hour diet is better than the 8 hour diet’ ”

I’m starting to realize that there are 50 shades of fasting out there.