What to Eat on Fast Days

This topic contains 11 replies, has 11 voices, and was last updated by  jeni606 6 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)

• Hello everyone,

I am new to this concept of dieting and will be starting my journey beginning tomorrow. I’d like to know what everyone eats on Fast days to stay within the 500 calories. Are most of you eating soup on Fast Days as I think that might be the easiest for me to do. Any advice to get started would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Hi

im new to this as well and would like to know myself.

Hi, this is only my 2nd week of fasting and I have already lost 3lbs, so chuffed with that! I am using the meal planners in the fast fiet book by Michael Mosley and Mimi Spencer which give plenty of ideas. You can also use the ‘female’ breakfasts with the ‘male’ main courses to get more variety and keep within 500 cals. Drink plenty of water to keep hydrated. I’ve found that drinking a mug of bovril or bouillon really helpful when tummy rumbling.

I find that eating a lot of protein like fish, eggs and lean meat keeps the hungriest away, at least during the day. Beans are filling, as are lentils. Green pea soup is filling as is just about any soup. Lots of people here eat minestrone on FD. As everyone says, lots of water and plain tea helps. I drink diet sodas which helps. (Even though they probably aren’t good for me.) The carbonation seems to help.

It seems like most of my FDs involve just a few different foods that I really like. FD on Monday and Thursday (unless something is going on one of those days and it gets moved to another day) have become so routine for me now. I’ve been doing 5:2 since May 10 of this year and I never miss doing my 2 fast days. That is non-negotiable for me. If I screw up, it’s because of eating too much on a NFD, not missing a FD.