Strength Training on fast days

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Fast Exercise Fast Strength
Strength Training on fast days

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Cathie0 1 year, 10 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• Hello

I am just starting out on the 5:2 diet and was wondering how people went with strength training on their fast days? πŸ™‚

I do strength training before breaking a fast. So on the first morning I just tend towards cardio. While I’m not too worried about protein, I don’t think it makes sense to over stress the muscles when I’m not going to be eating within a few hours. Strength training can really stress muscles.

Anyway I’ve found this has worked really well for me. It did take me
    a few months to get used to it.

I am starting this today and wonder how it will fit in with exercise…I’m poor at dieting but great at exercising!! But I would like to shift some weight for health reasons and to make it easier to cycle up those hills!! I wonder if I am best backing off the exercise until I feel more in the zone. I can keep up my strength around food but do some endurance stuff too which I wonder will be hard…any help/hints?

Hi Karen,

I always exercise in the morning regardless of whether it is a fast day or not.
    I’m fasting today and I only eat dinner as I like to save all my calories for a decent sized plate of food in the evening.
    This morning I did 45 minutes cardio followed by 30 minutes of weights/resistance work plus a 15 minute swim which I’ll be doing again tomorrow after only having 500 calories today, and I know from experience that I won’t feel any different than I did today.

My only issue is keeping myself occupied and out of the kitchen until dinner but that is the same on any FD regardless of whether I’ve been to the gym.