Regaining weight after losing it

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body General health
Regaining weight after losing it

This topic contains 1 reply, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  fasting_me 6 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

• I’ve been doing a 3/4 routine for about 6 months and have lost 16.5 lb. I now find that even a relatively modest occasional overshoot on the calorie limits on fasting (600 cal) and non-fasting (TDEE) days causes weight gain — this is despite the combined calorie total over a 7-day period still showing a deficit. My question is: after a period of pursuing the Fast Diet, does one’s body re-set (lower) the threshold at which fat starts to be stored?

There seems to be evidence that all diets do this, faast22. You’ll find some links to reports and research in the Science threads. It’s partly that at a lower weight one needs fewer cals but also that the body becomes more efficient at using what it gets, more so than someone of a similar weight who has never dieted. The science of fasting is very helpful, though, as it tackles the issue of keeping insulin low for at least the fasting periods. Fat cells release their fat for energy if it’s needed only when insulin is not in the bloodstream, as this process is promoted by glucagon and glucagon can only work in the absence of insulin. But your system also has to need that energy and will use what is already in the bloodstream before bothering to open fat cells. So if you eat over what you need, it will get used first if it’s fat and any extra sugars will be turned to fat and will be shunted into your fatcells by insulin. If you are going over totals, eg for a night out, or weekend away, try to leave a good long gap between meals to help a bit, or maybe have very late breakfast. You’re right, it doesn’t seem to take much.