My waist measurement is not going down

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body General health
My waist measurement is not going down

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Paw 4 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• I have been doing 5:2 for 5 months now. I have lost approx 9lbs. My question is I do not seem to be going less on my waist. Only one inch from the beginning. I have lost approx 4 inches from the tummy/hips area. I am pleased to be losing weight however my main driver for doing this was health reasons. I think the tummy area loss is good for viscerasl fat. However I also read that a high waist measurement is not good, so not sure why poor loss in measurement for waist. Any ideas and thoughts welcome.

Hi,

We have no control over where any excess weight disappears from.
    4 inches from tummy/hips is a lot and is an excellent result and it is obvious that is where most of that 9lbs has disappeared from.

Waist measurement can be an indicator of visceral fat but it isn’t a fact that a wide waist means you have it. Women who have had children may have a larger waist, those who do not do much in the way of exercise may also have a larger waist measurement.
    Also we come in all different shapes and sizes which means some of us have a wider waist in comparison to our hips than others and we don’t all store fat in the same places.

If you are till overweight and continue with your weight loss regime you may see a further decrease in waist size, but if you are a healthy weight then the way to reduce your waist measurement is exercises to tighten up the muscles. If you already do such exercise and are a healthy weight there’s not much you can do about it, but it doesn’t necessarily mean you are carrying visceral fat.

Thank you for your reply. Much appreciated. I am still classed as overweight so I will be continuing with 5:2 and hope further inches will be lost