I am a secret non-eater

This topic contains 13 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  fasting_me 6 years ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)

• I never told anyone, not even my family. At work they know I practically always skip lunch, but they do not know that I skipped breakfast as well, and will also skip dinner. At home they notice that I sometimes skip breakfast, but they have no idea that I do not binge for lunch. Maybe if I were overweight, I would come out, and they might support me. But I am not. Would they support me if I would say that frugality appeals to me? If I would say that I would like to be skinnier? Healthier?
    I am afraid to deal with the resistance supported by the 3-meals-a-day-norm.

I am not a medical professional but I feel concerned for you if you do not want to eat at all. Is there someone you could talk to who could help you find support? If you just want to fast for health following 5:2 or 6:1 I am sure your friends and family would understand if you shared the potential benefits with them?

mrs-minimalist – well done for sharing your situation and asking for advice.
    I share cornish-jane’s concern and suggest you have a chat with your GP simply to ensure that you are maintaining your health. It’s important that you get the full range of minerals, vitamins & important food groups for your normal bodily functioning.
    All the best and I look forward to hearing how you get on.

Hello again, MrsM. I’m glad that you have ‘spoken out loud’ to us about how you eat. When first I encountered you on this Forum, it seemed that you might have an eating disorder. You should speak with your doctor and simply tell her/him about how you eat. You might not think that this is a problem now, but if you are getting minimal nutrition and vitamins/minerals it will catch up with you in the long run. Admitting this is the first step. Now take the next one.

good luck, I’ll be thinking about you.