Headaches are killing me on the 5:2!!!

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Science of intermittent fasting
Headaches are killing me on the 5:2!!!

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Firefox7275 4 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• Hi i have been doing 5:2 for a few months now but the headaches are killing me on fast days. i thought this will subside once my body gets used to it once it learns using ketones as fuel instead of glucose but it didn’t! i take breakfast first thing on fast days, an apple midday and dinner which makes a total of 600K. i make sure i drink water throughout the day (2 liters), coffee ( i always drink decaff coffee) and tea but nothing seem to help. I dont have diabetes or high blood pressure or any other serious health issue.
    any advice?

Hi,

I drink at least 2 litres of water plus teas and coffees on non fast days. We get most of the water we need from our food so you could try increasing the amount you drink on FDs.
    I always find that something salty helps with headaches, a cup of instant miso soup, clear broth or even a couple of pinches of salt and a glass of water.

Hope this helps.

My first suggestion is go back to basics: read whichever of Dr Mosley’s books you have again, double check you are following all of the guidelines and troubleshooting. There is so much information it is easy to forget some.

What time of day your headaches begin relative to your eating schedule and activity schedule may give you more clues.

Are you tracking what you are eating on both Fast days and non-Fat days? You do not say what your breakfast or dinner are, but a whole apple is high in sugar so vegetables are preferred (p.93).

Without protein (p.92) or fat to slow to slow your digestion, the fruit may cause your blood glucose to peak and trough. Without mineral-rich foods or rehydration salts you may be low on electrolytes/ body salts (p.138).