Duration of fasting

This topic contains 10 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  TracyJ 10 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

• Apologies. I know I’ve seen this somewhere but can’t seem to locate it now I need to!

I have just had a large (healthy) lunch. I think I’m right in thinking I could start my Tuesday fast from 2pm today until 2pm tomorrow? I won’t feel the need to eat this evening and then I’m asleep for most of the fast. I can then have my 500 calls tomorrow and eat normally from 2pm tomorrow or do a 2 day consecutively fast. Am I correct. Is there a downside to this?

I would appreciate some advice as I’m new to this.

Thanks very much

You could do that yes. Whatever works for you.

For the IGF1 effect to kick in I believe there should be a genuine (eating nothing) period of 16+ hours in there somewhere but as long as you don’t have your 500 calorie breakfast before 6-7a.m. you would have that anyway.

Good luck.

Thanks very much. Don’t remember reading anything about complete fast for 16 hours. Could you point me in the right direction?

Hi normag, I don’t have the books so I’ve no idea if they mention the 16 hours but it was referenced in passing in the ‘Eat, Fast & Live Longer’ BBC documentary and Michael actually met 2 of the researchers who’s work is covered in the article in the link attached below.

http://io9.com/5979523/why-you-should-starve-yourself-a-little-bit-each-day

I’ve alwasy taken this as a part of the 5:2 for me so I always try to leave 16 hours between my last meal the day before and my first fastday morsel (I now do 20-24 hours on fastdays but that wasn’t the case to start with).

I usually don’t leave that long to have calories – although I am only having 25 calories for milk in my morning coffee.