Dog Walking

This topic contains 8 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  pamie 7 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

• Hello, I’m new to the 5:2 diet and am into my third week. In May this year I started walking my 3 Dalmatians 3 miles after work each day. To date I have lost 7 kg and need to lose a further 4 kg to trim down to 70 kg to give me a BMI of 25. I have much more energy, sleep well and find that my concentration at work is 100% now. I am the Lead Practice Nurse in my surgery and always on my feet!

Hi Phoebe,

Congrats to your loss of 7Kg! I have two dogs and walk them daily. A couple of weeks ago I downloaded the free app “C25K” which is a program that gets you very slowly into running/jogging. I never thought I could do it as I could not run more than a couple of meters without having to catch my breath.

Now I am on the follow up program C210K and I am training to run 10k. I am now easily running 5k in one go without a break. My dogs are not sure whether they like it or not as while they are very energetic (Soft coated Wheaten Terriers) they prefer a slower pace to give them time to sniff around. Nevertheless they love the longer “walks”.

Keep on walking- it is apparently very good for you!

Best wishes
    Stef.

I also walk my dog daily and it helps me to lose weight, I think I lose some pounds in doing it regularly. This is also a great bonding for me and my dog to have quality time together. Walking with the dog is great and very helpful exercise for me.

this is all very well if your dog likes to walk 🙂 ^^ having been adopted by a tiny rescue stray a year ago, me n the cats were concerned we d be woken at early dawn with demands for walkies :/ Not so. Cynthia will not get out of bed till she wants to, loves to snooze in the day and if she is not inclined to walk far once essentials are done, will stand rigid and refuse to budge 🙂 However as I detest any form of exercise this suits me just fine 😉 xx