Complete Fasting?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Coffeeman 6 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• I’m new to IF and have tried to fast a few days and made it most of the day, but after I eat my first ‘meal’ I find that my mindset changes and I start feeling like I can eat food again. It’s happened a few times now. I’m wondering if anyone else just fasts from food completely on those days, to continue in line with the mentality that you are really fasting on those days?

I jumped into the deep end and made my fast days water only. I actually found this easier than eating 600 cal/day. When I first started all I could think of was that the next day I would eat like a king. It occupied my mind big time. This lasted about a month before it disappeared. After 6 months fasting became very easy and still is. The next day I eat normally and do not “feast”. After a while your system adjusts and you are more in tune with your satiety signals. Sugar and processed carbs completely destroy and sense of satiation. I break my fasts with fats and protein. The carbs I include are usually some fruit which has fibre. Never fruit juice or fruit smoothies.

Fighting those urges is a combination of habit and your hormones. Eat whole foods, no processed foods, and by processed Im including bread, breakfast cereals, muesli bars, pasta etc. and you will make the task of being successful a lot easier.

What works for me best is to eat my first food on a fasting day until late into the afternoon. I’m less hungry overall and feel that I’ve actually got a 500 calorie feast to consume, if so I choose at that point. What is wonderful is that I rarely find I am hungry for the full 500 calories by that point in time.