Better to eat 500 cals at breakfast or split into 3 tiny meals?

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Food Meal plans and meals
Better to eat 500 cals at breakfast or split into 3 tiny meals?

This topic contains 16 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  dykask 5 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)

• I am new to this and an am on day 3 of the diet.

Is it better to eat a 500 calorie breakfast and fast until the next morning, or split the 500 cals into 3 tiny meals for break/lunch/dinner?

The goal is reduced cancer risk etc rather than weight loss.

Hi,

The perceived health benefits of 5:2 are due to the extended fasting period between meals so you are better off only eating one meal on fast days. If you don’t want to lose weight there is no need to limit your one meal to 500 calories.

Youre wanting to do this for reduced cancer risk rather than weight loss? I’ll assume you are at a good weight already. Then you probably need to fast as in eat nothing and enter ketosis. Three small meals will jump you out of ketosis for the day unless its extremely low carb. Then your effort has been a waste of time. Look up Valter Longo on you tube. If you are a normal weight and eat low carb it will take you about 24-36 hours to get into ketosis. Initially it may take you a lot longer to get there, maybe 48-60 hours of true fasting. You enter ketosis quicker the more you practice it.

Ive been doing this for over three years now. No weight loss now, but I still water fast every Monday. Ive had one cold in three and a half years. And I live in a family with three kids. If there is a cold going around they will bring it home with them. Hope that helps.