Another type2 diabetic

This topic contains 27 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  wiltldnrUSA 10 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)

• Hello all,

I am a total newbie in the forum and only just bought the book too. Typically, I am obese with bmi of 38 and have type 2 DM with only metformin medication. I work in a hospital, operating theaters to be exact, so have a physical and busy job. I am in a process of planning to try the 5:2 lifestyle although am a little bit apprehensive. I don’t measure my BM as a rule but will be as i trial the fasting days since I am quite prone to hypos without regular (ish) meals. My main difficulty is that I never am able to take regular breaks as I sometimes spend 7 hours scrubbed for a surgery. I think I have to fast on non working days, or divide the calories to snacks as well or maybe fast from lunch time to lunch time.

Any inspiration and ideas are welcome, the weight really needs to come off! For the last few days, I have found myfitnesspal very helpful, as I didn’t realize how many empty calories I was eating.

Hi saz123, I’m also prone to hypos without regular meals and take Metformin too. I’ve only just started 5:2 and only had two fast days but I didn’t take any Metformin at all on those days. I regularly checked my BM and it stayed stable. It might be an idea to take regular readings for a week, particularly on fast days.

Thanks aniann, much appreciated! My plan is developing slowly and I think I will try the approach of late breakfast around 10 or 11 followed by dinner around 8. I will calculate the calories so that I can have a snack of an egg or some veg like peppers if it feels too long or I start to feel funny.

I must say that this lifestyle seems very doable and sustainable so am looking forward to seeing results in my weight, blood works and blood pressure…