would a boiled mint sweet end the fast?

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Science of intermittent fasting
would a boiled mint sweet end the fast?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Annametuka 7 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• I am fairly new to IF and most of the time find it OK.

I tend to do the 36 hour principle, last main meal Sunday 6.30pm and next full meal breakfast on Tuesday 8.30am with only 500 Kcal on Monday night. Repeated from Tuesday night through to Thursday morning.

However, sometimes at work on a fast day I feel the need to ‘freshen up’ my mouth.

There lies my dilemma, I can’t bring my toothbrush etc in to work and mostly go for a boiled mint sweet – i.e a Murray mint / foxes glacier mint at what would normally be lunch time.

My question is: does this put an end to my fast period earlier than I think? It means that I’m ‘eating’ earlier than my main 500 Kcal meal in the evening?

What are your thoughts?

Hi tbe:

The only issue for 5:2 is how many calories the mint has. If you are staying under 500 cal. for your entire diet day, all is well with the 5:2 world. It does not matter when or how often you eat during your diet days as long as you follow the calorie guidelines: https://thefastdiet.co.uk/forums/topic/52-calorie-restriction-v-fasting-for-newbies/

Good Luck!

Thanks simcoeluv

I stay well within the 500 on a fast day. As long as it doesn’t have some kind of metabolic effect and “turn off” the fat burning.

Tbez

Hi tbez: