Women 70 and older

This topic contains 6 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  CroneBarb 6 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• Hi! I’m a newbie who has kept her body in shape for all of my 77 years. I am now 78 and find that I have become a sugar/carb “junkie”. Now I know better. Recently, I weighed in 14 lbs. over my average weight for the past 20 years. I lost 9 of those 14 lbs. but have not, for the life of me been able to go below that number although I drastically reduced said sugar/carbs. HOWEVER! The most disconcerting problem I am facing is “belly fat,” although for most of my life I’ve been known to have a flat stomach. In addition, inches have piled up around my waist, hips and buttocks so that I can barely fit into my clothes and when I do, everything is sticking out. I am familiar with complete fasting, and am grateful for trying an eating system that does not cut out all carbs/sugar; but can eat them within range of calories. BIG QUESTION: Has anyone lost inches as well as lbs. on this diet?

Hi,
    I’m in a very similar situation and the same age group . I too am overweight after being thin for most of my life. I’ve tried the Atkins Diet in the past and have lost inches from my tummy, waist etc. however this diet is not sustainable. I’m going to start the Fast Diet next week. I’m determined to loose the weight. I don’t see why one would loose weight and not the inches.
    Marg

Some weeks I have lost inches, but the scales have barely moved. There have been lots of accounts were people have dropped several dress sizes, without the scales moving.To really ‘see’ what is going on, I believe that it is a combination of the tape measure, clothes and scales all just once a week.I am about to be 54, but fail to see why my experience should be different to yours.