Why is "non-black" coffee a no-no?

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Mind Coping strategies for hunger
Why is "non-black" coffee a no-no?

This topic contains 50 replies, has 41 voices, and was last updated by  maria1994 5 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 50 posts - 1 through 50 (of 52 total)

• Just finished the book — next week will be my first 5:2 week. I have some experience with fasting for religious reasons, and I know that coffee is very helpful for me in suppressing appetite. So I think it would be a good tool for me on fast days. But I can’t stand black coffee. I usually take both low-fat milk and sugar (I don’t do artificial sweeteners in anything). I could curb both the milk and sugar to the point that the total calorie count for an 8 oz cup of coffee would be less than 30 calories — and I only drink one cup a day.

So here’s the question: in the book Mimi and Michael suggest drinking a cup of “low calorie hot chocolate” as a treat if you get hungry. According to the calorie counter in the back, this would add up to over 40 calories. Yet they always stress that if you drink coffee, it must be black. Is there something I’m missing here? Is there some reason I can’t have the coffee as described above, as long as I limit the rest of my calories to 470? And would it make a difference when I drink it during the day?

I have been on 5-2 for 12 weeks now. Some fast days I do small coffee (love love love my coffee) with half and half and Splenda – I just use less h&h than other days. I then cut out my lunch fruit and eat grilled chicken with lots of lettuce for dinner!!! I lost 14.2 lbs in 12 weeks. I don’t do cream and sugar to many times on fast days though!!! :-).

We drink coffe with milk in on fast days because we don’t like it black. We swap full fat for semi- skimmed on fast days and only have two small cups. I can’t remember seeing anything in the book that said you can’t have milk in coffe – just to be mindful of the calories.