When it seems to be working for everyone but you…

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Benefits and side effects
When it seems to be working for everyone but you…

This topic contains 29 replies, has 23 voices, and was last updated by  EllieOllie 8 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)

• My partner and I have been fasting 5:2 for close to four months. During this time he has gone from 79 to 72 kilos and lost 10 cm off his waist (hooray). I, on the other hand, have seen absolutely no change whatsoever – either in my weight or my body measurements.

Fast days are, frankly, miserable. Eating anything at all early on triggers ravenous hunger within 30-60 minutes, so the only strategy that gets me through the day is to put off eating anything until the evening, which really makes the hours drag. Despite drinking plenty of fluids to stave off hunger and stay hydrated, I often develop vicious headaches and muscle cramping in the evenings on fast days, which sometimes last well into the next day. To say that I’m feeling disheartened at this stage would be something of an understatement!

I only have a modest weight loss target of 6 extra kilos that crept up on me in the last year, and I eat pretty conscientiously in general (whereas my partner is a total sugar junkie with no concept of portion control) but, not having experienced a single positive return from 3 months of intermittent fasting, I have to admit that I’m only a whisker’s breadth from chucking in the towel. Today is a fast day, and I’m afraid I got up this morning, contemplated the day ahead, decided that it just wasn’t worth the misery, and scarfed a dirty toasted sandwich – which may or may not have contained bacon (I can neither confirm nor deny that rumour).