Struggling since starting to eat 'clean'

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Benefits and side effects
Struggling since starting to eat 'clean'

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  _deleted account 8 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

• I’ve been fasting for two or three years now (I forget!), and I use it mainly for weight maintenance, rather than weightloss. I’ve always found fasting quite easy, I’ve got through my fasting days with few side effects, and often don’t even feel all that hungry.

I put some weight on towards the end of last year due to holidays and a general lack of willpower, so since Christmas I’ve been trying to lose some of it (8lbs down so far!). In order to shift this weight, and because I just wanted to feel healthier and eat less rubbish, I’ve adopted a mostly ‘clean’ diet as well as doing the 5:2, so I’ve cut out refined sugar and processed food. I’m not following the clean lifestyle religiously, I’m just trying to eat better in general. I’m monitoring my calories, and eating around 1800-2000 calories on my non-fasting days. I’ve adjusted to the diet well, and found it pretty easy. I feel so much better, plus I am seeing a result in my weight.

The only trouble is, since I adopted the clean diet two months ago I have been REALLY struggling with my fasting days. I’ve been massively grumpy, tired, had headaches, been ravenously hungry and had my stomach rumbling all day. It’s been really hard. Does anyone have any idea why I’m suddenly finding it so much harder? Has anyone else experienced this? Any tips?

I’ve been doing a heavily modified version of 5:2 for 14 months. In February I went to strict as written 5:2 and it was pretty dang tough. You can read about it here https://thefastdiet.co.uk/forums/topic/little-voices-february-love-ourselves-challenge/page/5/