Putting on weight

This topic contains 25 replies, has 11 voices, and was last updated by  simcoeluv 8 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)

• OK, I’ve been doing this for more than 2 months now, but I’m actually putting on weight.

The book says don’t count calories on non fast days, so I don’t. But it also says that I won’t want to gorge on non fast days, but I do want to. Very much. It says I won’t fancy cheesecake on non fast days; I didn’t used to, but now I do.

I find I am ravenous the morning after a fast day, and I’m obviously now just eating more than the deficit.

The book has plenty of advice on fast days, but I can stick to those. What I am waiting for is this appetite regulation effect to kick in on non fast days. Quite the opposite has happened for me: I am far more hungry than I ever was.

Also, while I can and do stick to the fasts, I don’t find that I have sharpened mental faculties on fast days, as suggested I might. I find that from early afternoon on, I am grumpy, woosy, and find mental tasks very difficult. My concentration is shot, and I make silly mistakes.

I am fairly active. I have a dog, and take her for a brisk walk for 40-45 minute every morning. I might also do an additional 40-45 minute walk up to 3 times a week. Sometimes at weekends I go longer walks. I also do the Wii Fit. (It doesn’t help that the Wii keeps telling me that I’ve missed goals).

All of the above activity predates starting 5:2 by several years.

I have tried splitting up the 600 calories in different ways, but find that what works best for me is a 200 calorie midday meal and a 400 calorie evening meal.

Hi HungrySteve, I felt like that when I started. I felt like that when trying to quit nicotine as well. After a week or so the sensation disappeared. Two month is a long wait.