No calorie fast days vs. 500 (or so) calories?

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Different approaches to intermittent fasting
No calorie fast days vs. 500 (or so) calories?

This topic contains 19 replies, has 19 voices, and was last updated by  Gabeshelena 3 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)

• So I’m interested – have any of you tried both zero (or close) calories on your fast days and your 500 (or so) calories on your fast days? If so, what do you think were your pros and cons?

I’m finding that for me, zero calories (water, coffee, sugar-free gum, etc.) is actually easier mentally because there’s no choices, no thought, etc. I think I personally would have more obsessive food thoughts if I was trying to budget 500 calories. I am finding that I get a lot done on my fasting days and I am kind of looking forward to them.

I’m a relative newbie though and I never say never. If this type of fasting doesn’t work for me, then I’m fine with doing the 500 or so calories, but for now, I’m pretty happy.

On the con side though, I’m a widowed mom with two boys, 11 and 14. I’m trying not to make a big deal of fasting, so not eating the dinner or lunch I’m making them is a little weird. But then again, they’re at that age where they don’t much notice anything except whether there’s food on the table – for them. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hi Chris – I’m only starting my first Fast day tomorrow but had wondered if I might be better with nothing at all. I really can’t be bothered with calorie counting so I’m probably going to have a small breakfast and a small supper – but I won’t be doing any maths. I’ll try to keep them low GI, but I’m not going to be too strict.

It’s very interesting to hear that zero calories is working for you, I think I will give that a try at some point to see how I get on. We’re all different so I guess it’s all about finding out what works for us personally.