New to Fast Diet: Can I do 4:3 when I'm up for it? Can I move my fast days?

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Weight loss
New to Fast Diet: Can I do 4:3 when I'm up for it? Can I move my fast days?

This topic contains 1 reply, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  fasting_me 6 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

• Hi, Friends. I’m new to 5:2. In fact, I’m in the middle of a Master Cleanse so I have a few days yet to do my “homework” on 5:2. I put on some weight a few years ago and now again in the last few months. I’ve been fit and trim most of my life and just because I’m 52 and post menopause does not mean that I’m read to give up! (Like I said, I’m new here and here’s “my story” in case you’re interested/bored. https://thefastdiet.co.uk/forums/topic/new-to-52-52-post-menopause-in-the-u-s/#post-231790 ) I just stumbled upon 5:2 yesterday and have not ordered the book yet so I’m sorry if these two questions are easily answered by the book. I was so excited to find the info about 5:2 that I read up and watched YouTube videos about the background of it for hours.

I know I can do 5:2 with fast days at 400-500 calories; probably Mon/Thurs. I always practically do that after my boyfriend and I have had a particularly indulgent week or weekend. I feel like a lot of the time, I could likely do 4:3 (eating lightly both Mon and Tues, and then probably Thurs).

I have two questions. The first question is: Do I have to keep the same fast days every week? Mondays will probably almost always work for me but if I have some kind of social thing happening and need to, for instance, fast on Wed instead of Thurs, that’s okay, right? Or do my fast days two in a row early in the week?

The second question is: If I’m feeling particularly “fasty”, can I randomly do a 4:3? I can see that it might be easy for me to do both Mon and Tues, and then Thurs. Nothing wrong with an extra day of fasting, right?

Hi Gina and welcome: