New to 5:2: 52, post menopause, in the U.S.

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  fasting_me 6 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

• Hi, Friends. This is kinda long but here it goes: I’m new to 5:2. In fact, I’m in the middle of a Master Cleanse (not my first time) so I have a few days yet to do my “homework” on 5:2 yet. Lots of articles online and videos on YouTube. Yay! I have as science background so I’m really into “evidence” and supporting science for nutrition/diet. I have always read up on nutrition and fitness, having been very athletic and fit most of my life (not lately!), and I have been seeing articles about IF for several years now. I usually came across these articles on bodybuilding sites or sites where people are really getting into the nitty gritty of everything and they made IF sound too complicated. I spent MANY years in my 20s and into my 30s, when I was a serious lifter, tracking my protein, fat, and calories, and I just feel that people can get ridiculous with the detail these days. Maybe it’s because I’m older and want life to be simpler? Anyway…that’s just MHO. So…I’m happy that I stumbled upon the 5:2 diet!

I turned 52 in October. Post menopause (hysterectomy last year) and on hormone replacement therapy. As I mentioned, I’ve always been pretty fit. When I was in my early 40s, I was running around in a bikini and looking more fit than most of the 20-somethings on the beach. Then around 45, I hit major career burnout as a workaholic and other very stressful things happened in my life, and I crashed and burned. I put on about 15 lbs (this is a lot on a 5’3″ frame that has always been fit) and wound up over 140 lbs. I managed to stay around 137 for about 5 years but never dropped back below 130. Last week, I hit 148 lbs after some recent life changes. I know that the scale is not the ultimate reflection of our fitness or health but I know where my numbers are when I feel good.