New here today…

This topic contains 63 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Penguinchick 4 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 50 posts - 1 through 50 (of 64 total)

• Hello,

This is my first time posting anything on any kind of ‘personal’ level forum, so forgive me if I waffle on a bit… I’m hoping that if I log what I do and where I am with my weight/feelings, I might actually start liking myself again and feel some support from people in a similar situation to me.

I’m a 51 yo mum of 2, married to a wonderful man who is supportive and loving, so on paper I should have the tools I need to help me.

Not sure how much history I should put, so I’ll start at the point where I decided I was going to lose weight and get ‘me’ back again:
    At the beginning of Feb, I used up/discarded all items in the fridge/cupboards which contained sugar/were processed etc, there wasn’t a lot, but with kids in the house, there’s always some of that type of thing and I want my kids to have a healthy attitude to food, with knowledge about what different things do to the body.
    The reason for this is mainly that as a child myself, I had to look after and ‘cure’ (as my parents informed me to do this) my anorexic/bulimic younger sister. They sent us both to stay with an uncle in another country for 3 months, so I could ‘cure’ my sister of her anorexia. I did what I could, as I was studying biology and wanted originally to become a vet/doctor. I was 14 at the time, so I was in no position to be any real help, but I did get her to gain a little weight for a short time. Cutting a very very long story shorter, she’s alive and she’s still got anorexia/bulimia, but it set in my mind the obsession with food from a young age. I also learned a huge amount about food disorders and oddly, even back then, long before it was reported in the news, I felt it was more of a mental illness than a faddy food thing… The wisdom of children!