need help

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  fadepeacock 10 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

• hi,
    I’m new to 5:2 fasting and I need to loose more than 10KG. Can anyone advise me
    thanks.

Hi Betty,

Welcome and good luck to you.

I would recommend reading these two links to begin with:
    https://thefastdiet.co.uk/forums/topic/warnings-to-newbies/
    https://thefastdiet.co.uk/forums/topic/the-basics-for-newbies-your-questions-answered/

Everyone has a slightly different approach so it is important to find a method which suits you and you feel you can realistically sustain. I’ve been doing this now for over 10 years and compared to my original weight I am 17 kg lighter – initially lost in the first 6 months of doing 5:2, then maintained, up and down a bit, ever since.

I can share my approach but it certainly will not suit everyone as I have never been a big foodie.

1) Keep it simple. I figured out two slightly different fast day menus and have pretty much stuck with them, until the last 6 months, ever since. (I only changed recently because the Zoe App I used revealed some of my original choices weren’t great for my gut biome, and so I changed them.)

2) Don’t fast on consecutive days. Don’t fast from Friday to Sunday. Don’t fast on holidays – enjoy yourself. In non-holiday weeks do a 6:1 instead if life simply gets in the way of doing 5:2. Go back to 5:2 immediately that you can after a 6:1 or after a holiday.

3) Keep busy on fast days, drink plenty of water or black coffee/tea. Hunger pangs WILL pass and tomorrow you can eat whatever you like.

4) Never count calories on non fast days – only the “2” part of 5:2 is supposed to require conscious effort.