My experience so far with 5:2

This topic contains 23 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  CarolineHP 6 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)

• I have been doing 5:2 since February 6, 2017 and wanted to share my experience to date.

I am a 57 year old male and am on synthroid for Hashimotos disease. When I started, my weight was 230 lbs and my blood pressure was 145/95. I was relatively inactive due to some nagging injuries. Also, I was becoming sensitive to sugar/carbs in that a dish of ice cream could leave me with a nasty hangover if I ate it after 7:00 pm the night before.

Today, my weight is 219 lbs, my blood pressure is 125/75 without medication, and my activity level is up significantly. Besides the improved numbers, my appetite has changed quite a bit – I really don’t crave sugary foods now but look forward to my fasts. I really enjoy how good food tastes the morning after completing a fast!

My wife and several friends are giving this a go as well – it’s working for each of them to varying degrees.

Good luck to everyone else embarking on this approach to eating!

Hi ifworks4me

That sounds like a good result for both weight loss and BP in a short space of time and loss of sugar craving will help.

I’ve only just started on 5:2. Yesterday was my first fasting day so I’ve got a long way to go and a lot to learn but everybody has to start somewhere!

Good luck with continuing your weight loss.

Dolly

Hi Dolly,

Thx for your note – I feel really fortunate for how well the IF approach has been working for me.

Congratulations on starting and getting through your first day. The fasts do get easier. Remember to drink lots of water as it helps w/hunger pangs (I prefer tea). Also, I find I get chilly on fast days so I unapologetically layer up to stay comfortable. Reading and connecting on the forums is helpful too.