Meal replacement shakes

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Weight loss
Meal replacement shakes

This topic contains 28 replies, has 14 voices, and was last updated by  timmothysmith01 1 year ago.

Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)

• Hi I am new to the 5:2 diet, and I am looking at using weight loss shakes for simplicity on the fasting days. I have decided to try Purition shakes has anyone else used these? Also can I have four shakes on a fasting day or is this too much? I am a type 2 diabetic and I was diagnosed by a routine blood test when I turned 40 in 2014. I was devastated…I managed to lose weight through regular dieting and brought my hba1c number down from 55 to 44 and then 43. I have since put the 2.5 stone back on that I lost over the last two years, and my reading is back up to 50 so I am looking to kick start my weight loss again. I have never been on medication and I keen to keep it that way if I can.

Any advice greatly received! Thank you!

I am in the U.S., and I have never heard of those shakes. I am lazy and refuse to cook on fast days (except for making soup), so I am going to use shakes too. I am using Premier Protein shakes. I’m on the 800 calorie fasting version,and these shakes are filling, so I think they will work for me. If your 4 shakes fit your fasting calorie allowance, I don’t see how they can hurt you. But since you are diabetic, maybe ask your doctor about this? Perhaps someone else with diabetes can come on board here and help you. I know many are purists and hate these shakes, but I’m no purist and I feel weight loss shakes can be helpful.

Thank you for your reply it’s encouraging to hear that you are also using shakes. I am in the UK so I think Purition is a UK brand, and the shakes are meant to be very healthy real food. The reason I was wondering if 4 shakes were ok on a fast day is that I read about having veg as part of it?