First day today!

This topic contains 7 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Ramseep 9 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• After reading the book yesterday, I have decided to give this a try. I have been training for the last 3 months with a personal trainer and while I have reduced my sweet and fat intake most days of the week, I have not lost any major weight but getting very toned! My trainer has suggested calorie cycling, but i think that this 5:2 may be better for me.

So I started today and it’s now 1.11 PM and my hunger is starting to creep in. I will drink some more herbal tea to keep it at bay, but all in all it’s not as bad as I thought it would be. For brekkie I had half Smart Bagel with 1 tbs of salmon cream cheese spread. At lunch I had a small gala apple and before I leave for the school run I will have 1 cup home make pop corn to keep me going till dinner. Dinner will be stir fried chicken breast With cashews and broccoli. I have input it all into my fitness pal to ensure I am keeping within my 500 cals.

I am determined to get it to 2 meals only a day as this seems to have better results for others. Wish me luck people.

Hi Ramseep and welcome:

Your eating plan is very high in carbs. Many people find that one high fat/protein meal in the evening is best, with second choice being two high fat/protein meals. You will need to experiment to see what works best for you.

The way 5:2 works is you go to bed, get up, eat 500 or fewer calories during your waking hours, go to bed, get up and eat to your TDEE or less – twice a week. On all 7 days of the week you can eat foods you want to eat – there are no forbidden foods, or foods you have to eat. For the first month or so focus on doing your diet days correctly (500 calories or less) and most everything else will fall into place.

Here is what TDEE means: http://thefastdiet.co.uk/forums/topic/tdee-for-the-curious-or-why-dont-i-lose-weight-faster/