Feast Day intake

This topic contains 11 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by  sylvestra 10 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)

• Hello

I am currently on week 4 of the 5:2, I started before I finished work for the summer (I am a teacher) and so far I have lost between 5 and 7llbs. I am so much more active now, this is because I have more time and I worry this will slow when I return to work in September. (I have been swimming 3-4 miles a week and walking/ hiking too, which is new to my life!)

I am just wondering how important is it that I eat 2000 calories on feast days? I am sticking to around 1200 – 1400 at the moment and I am wondering if this is in fact, hindering my weight loss?

Thank you in advance for any kind replies!

Lottie 🙂

Hi there Lottie! Huge congratulations on what you have achieved already! Great way of life eh ?! Just thought I would share my experience as I have been doing the 5:2 since April& have experimented lots of different ways! In my experience I feel it’s important to use your 2000 cals on feast days & especially as you’re so active!!! I’m now 51lb lighter& do ensure I eat my 2000 cals as I’m now very active too thanks to this new way of life! You could always compare your weeks& see what works best for you!!! Good luck, be great to hear how you get on!!

Hi Lottie,

I agree with Angela. You should be eating your 2000 calories on feed days, so your body doesn’t think it’s in starvation mode and hold onto your fat for dear life! 🙂 Increasing your calories may jump start your weight loss again.

All the best!

I signed up specifically because I had the same question. My first fast day was yesterday, and today I’m not very hungry at all. Out of curiosity I’ve counted my calories, and may not go over 1500 today… I don’t want to hinder my results, but at the same time I don’t feel like eating. I’d like to think eating less will help me, so long as I’m not starving.