Does 5:2 really work?

This topic contains 26 replies, has 17 voices, and was last updated by  Ah-tee 5 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)

• Hi all

I just wanted to share with you my experiences of the 5:2 diet over the past 3 months.

I started 5:2 in mid July so I have been doing it for just over 3 months now. In that time, I have lost about 3kgs max.

I have a very set routine for my fast days. I have a slice of brown toast and butter for breakfast, no more than about 100cals for lunch (bag of propercorn for example) and then a relatively biggish evening meal (about 300kls). I dont count coffees as much but probably consume about 100cals or so on this and other small things. So im there or there abouts when it comes to limiting my cal intake to 600cals on a fast day.

I would describe myself as moderately active. I play squash (at a decent level) maybe 3-4 times a week, sometimes on fast days.

Yet when considering all of the above, I have only lost 3kgs in 3 months which is about half of what you are ‘supposed’ to lose on 5:2 (say 2 kgs a month).

I’m not particularly overweight – im currently fluctuating between 69.5kgs and 70.5kgs and my height is about 5ft7in (although that is overweight according to some BMI calculators!!)

I really love the diet and the concept of abstaining two days a week, but i primarily took it up to lose weight which is simply not happening. My goal was to lose 10% of my body weight so my target weight was about 66kgs.

So for me, the diet just doesn’t work! Maybe im consuming too many cals on my non fast days but I wouldn’t say I did (albeit I don’t keep count in fairness). I’m also fairly active on some of these days so my net calorie intake should be less than my recommended daily intake.