Constipation.

This topic contains 49 replies, has 36 voices, and was last updated by  Couscous 5 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 50 posts - 1 through 50 (of 50 total)

• Sorry if this is TMI, but I wanted to ask if anybody else is a lot less “regular” since they started doing the 5:2?

I find that fasting really plays havoc with this? Maybe the lower volume of food slows peristalsis? But I have been eating good, fibrous food. Much healthier than I used to! Occasionally, when I’ve had to do my fast days consecutively because of other plans for the week, I find that it’s been especially bad and things haven’t returned to normal afterwards. On these occasions I’ve used glycerin suppositories, which I come across a lot as I’m a nurse.

Anyway, has anybody else had this problem and found a less invasive solution?

Yes………and it got better over time. It is also the reason why i never weigh myself the day after a fast day. My body has always taken a couple of days to get back to normal.I also drink lots of water, which helps.It took about 6 months for my body to adapt.

I forgot to mention that exercise made a massive difference, really got things moving!

Hi mrchris, a tangerine after my fasting day’s evening meal does the trick for me, in the summer a small bowl of strawberries. Don’t know exactly why these 2 fruits work for me and others don’t and it may not be the same for you, but it may be worth a try. Good luck!

Thanks for your replies. I will try those fruit tips!

Quite a few people have reported this happening – and I found it a bit of a problem the first two weeks but since then things have settled. Probably due to my making sure that I drink LOTS on my fasting days and also on my non fast days.

I also found it a bit weird as I was eating more good fiberous foods since starting the 5:2 and I wouldn’t have thought my fluid intake was lacking.