Consequences of Low Protein Daily Intake

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Medical conditions and fasting
Consequences of Low Protein Daily Intake

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Couscous 10 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• I’ve been doing the 5:2, actually 4:3, regiment for about 3 months now. I’ve now 15 pounds. I find the CR days challenging. By the end of the day, I really need to eat something. Generally, though, tea and water and walking, keep me going.

On the eating days, I’m keeping to about 1800-2000 calories. My metabolism has tested on the slow side (~1550/day resting). So this intake level seems necessary.

Ha1c has come down. Blood sugar has come down. Cholesterol is up but I went off one of the statins so that’s to be expected. And it’s not up much.

I’ve analyzed what I eat on the eating days and I believe I’m getting way more protein than necessary. Nonetheless, my wife has expressed concerns after reading this article on the Live Strong site:

http://www.livestrong.com/article/85745-consequences-low-protein-daily-intake/#page=1

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Dear IanR

On non fasting days you could make a smoothie like this one. I do a lot of sports, so I need proteins….healthy proteins!!

good luck, Pauw

Hi Ian, living permanently on a low protein diet is not a good idea, but in fact most of us eat more than the government recommended levels. The recipes in the Fast Diet and the Fast Diet Recipe book are quite rich in protein, because it is satiating and I can assure you they are certainly adequate for normal healthy living.
    Best wishes and good luck, Michael

Michael,