BMR or TDEE Calories?..

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Weight loss
BMR or TDEE Calories?..

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  timmothysmith01 1 year, 1 month ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• Hi
    I’m just getting started with the 5:2, and am a little confused on which calorie guid to follow on a non fasting day…… is it the BMR or TDEE??

Hi Josephine, if they are very different, think about which will make your day easy and sustainable.
    If you can avoid counting calories on your non fast day, do that. Concentrate on eating when you are hungry and making good nutritious meals. As little junk food as you can manage!
    The main thing is to get your fast days working well. All power to you.

Thank you Cinque, I just wasn’t too sure how to workout my fasting day calories, i believe it’s about 25% of your non fasting day calories, my BMR and TDEE has a 400 calorie difference….

Josephine, your BMR is the amount of calories your body uses if you do nothing but lay in bed for 24 hours – this is less than the “sedentary” category for activity levels. The TDEE is the calories used during a normal day and will vary along with your activity level, height, age and gender. When Michael Mosley wrote this diet he used TDEE as his guide for eating on the NFDs (non fast days) and suggested FDs should be 25% of that. He then went on to suggest calorie levels for FDs based on the average TDEE for the population. This was 500 calories for women and 600 for men.