Any Vegans out there? :)

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  bigbooty 7 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Hey!
    I’m just starting out on the 5:2 diet and wondered if there are any other vegans/veggie out there who have any advice for me!

I’m just wondering what you eat/how often you eat, because plant foods contain more water which digests a lot quicker than other foods. I know from before I did this diet, I would need to eat quite often to stay full, I’m only on day 2 so any advice would be great! 😀

Hi Kathryn,

I’m a lacto-ovo vegetarian and I’m just wrapping up my 4th week on the 5:2 diet. I love fasting days because they are the easiest for me to follow and adhere to! I’m trying to think of what advice I have for you… I think my diet, which includes eggs, wouldn’t be of assistance for your needs. I tend to have coffee with almond milk in the morning and then I make it to about 3PM when I finally eat 1 fried egg. Then I eat whatever meal I make for my family (we’re an all vegetarian family) in a smaller quantity, trying to eyeball the amount for that cap at 500 calories.

Hi Kathryn,
    lapsed vegetarian here, so maybe not as useful to you as other vegans who will surely come along.

The tip for fast day foods is to make them high protein and low GI as that keeps you fuller for longer (and also avoids the sort of sugar rush that gives you the munchies).

I tend to go through the day with cuppas to keep me going, and then have a big bowl of soup in the evening. It might suit you to do the same and make a hearty soup maybe with tofu, legumes or whatever your favourite protein is.

Other people find a big bulky salad is the thing.

Fast day is a hungry day, it is meant to be. But it is just one day, so you can survive! You can spend it fantasising about what delicious things you will eat the next day!

It feels so good the next morning!