TDEE

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  rockyromero 10 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• Hi everyone. I’ve been doing the 5:2 for a couple of months now and have lost close to 14lbs but recently seem to have reached a plateau.
    I’ve used the TDEE calculator which gave me 1800 calories on my non fasting days. Does this mean I should be eating 300 calories on my fasting days? Thanks

Hi sharon82,
    Well done on the almost 14lbs weight loss, very impressive for a couple of months.How many inches/cms have you lost?

NO! Stick to 500 calories on fast days no matter what your TDEE becomes.

As regards the plateau, don’t worry about it. I stuck at a weight for 4 weeks, but lost 7 inches!!!!!!!!I have had about 4 plateaus since January.

If you want to get things on the move then you could try changing exercise, I find swimming a couple of times a week shakes things up. Or just carry on as you are and you will find that either the weight or the inches will be on the move again.

I hope that helps.

Hi sharon82
    Welcome to the forum and congrats on your fantastic loss so far – you must be very pleased 🙂
    My understanding is that on the fast day you aim for around one quarter of the TDEE as the max calorie intake, so that would make it 450 kcal for you. Some people have no food on fast days, so if you wanted to only have 300 kcal that is ok, but if you do want to eat, you might find 300 kcal is not enough – but whatever you can cope with should be fine. Ideally just protein and veggies of course.
    Lots of people report reaching a plateau – it’s very common. Are you getting close to your goal weight – plateaus often happen then.
    If you browse the forum – and I am sure you already have – you will find a range of suggestions for how to deal with plateaus.
    These include: