Struggling on 'work day' fast days

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Soul Support, chat and encourage
Struggling on 'work day' fast days

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  TracyJ 10 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• Hi, I’ve not been doing 5:2 that long – just a few weeks. So I realise that it may get easier…

My problem is that I am finding one of my fast days extremely hard – the weekday one. I try to do Sunday and Wednesday. Funnily, although most people say work days are easier, for me Sunday is the easiest one – I get up late, I can distract myself with TV, the internet and painting my nails etc, and then I go to bed early.

It’s the weekday one I’m really struggling with. The thing is, I have an energetic job – I’m a primary teacher (7 year olds). It means I’m getting up at 6am, standing up or walking/running around constantly, and being generally energetic all day with 30 lively kids, then going home at around 17:30. I am starving ALL DAY. My body is literally crying out to me to give it some fuel, and by the time I get home, I feel miserable, weak and, if I’m honest, a little bit teary. Then I am literally chewing my own hand off trying to resist the urge to eat something until bed time – even after I have my evening meal.

I usually have nothing in the morning, have a small meal at lunch time at school (Cup-a-Soup and very small sandwich with wholemeal ‘thins’) because I need some energy (12pm) and then something at home, usually a Weight Watchers meal(7pm). Then I sit there all night craving everything and anything until bedtime at 10pm.