SSRI's

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  EmmyJo 9 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• Hello–a newbie here, in fact, today is my first ever fast day, and I survived!
    My question concerns the use of SSRI antidepressants–I’ve been taking 50 mag of sertraline daily for more ten years, and it has been very good for me. But a big side effect of these meds are weight gain.

Any track record on the 5:2 when using SSRI’s?

Thanks,

Teddie

Hello Teddie,
    I was on an SSRI for 6 years and gained about 4 stone. For the last few years I’ve been on a tricyclic and managed to lose one stone.
    When I started the 5:2 in March, I was eating without counting calories (on non-fast days) for 3 months and lost nothing. For the past 4 weeks I’ve been counting calories on those days and have started to lose weight. 9 lbs to date.
    I wasn’t overeating before, but find I can only lose weight if I restrict and count. I have 1500 on non-fast days, 500 on fast days and try to stick to 1800 on a Saturday (when we’re most likely to eat out). My TDEE is 2000.
    Good luck. It’s harder for us, but you can make it work. Incidentally my non-medicated husband has lost 2 stone (28 lbs) and eats what he likes on non-fast days.

Thanks, Pudding, for your reply.

I’ve tried a few other meds, but they are not for me. The tricky part is I do not need the SSRI for depression, but more for a “smoothing out” or leveling my baseline anxiety/mild OCD status, so I think I’ve found the medication niche in sertraline.

I am also watching the calories on non-fast days, and trying to stay at ~ 1300. After 6 days, I’ve lost 4 lbs, so I feel pretty good. Men are always “the biggest losers”. Drat 🙂

Teddie

Hello Teddie,

I too take my medication for anxiety, rather than depression. It’s a relief when you find the right medication for you.

Congratulations on your weight loss and good luck for the future.