Newbie… PLEASE HELP

This topic contains 14 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Merryme 7 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)

• Hi everyone, I’m new here and I know I’ll need support. I have a story like everyone else! I used to be a fitness instructor but had an accident, became unwell and I’m on various medications which have obliterated my metabolism and I’m unable to exercise. I have crept up to almost 13stone and I can’t look at myself in a mirror. I’m an all or nothing person so because I can’t exercise I’ve binged. Self loathing has become order of the day. IT NEEDS TO STOP! But I know I’ll need help. Please please if you have had success and can tell me what pitfalls to avoid and how to maximise foods please share with me and I’ll be forever grateful, truly. Recipes, good/bad foods, good regimes etc would be so helpful to me. Thank you from my heart X

Hi Oriaith,

You’ve come to the right place; this forum. I’ve had major health issues too and have been on hydrocortisone steroid medication for most of the past 4 years, though thankfully have weaned, though I’m still not able to exercise either. I’ve also been a binger, so know how that feels. There are so many supportive threads on this forum and what I would suggest is to click around and check some of them out since they are full of those very experienced as well as newbies like you and me (well I still feel like a newbie having begun 5:2 in late June 2016). I don’t feel like I could have continued and had the success I’ve had without tapping into the supportive threads. There are threads with many themes including a thread for those who binge, a thread for those who live in various locations and threads for those various amounts of weight to lose. There are also a couple of recipe threads! You can find all these active threads if you go to the top of this page and click the link in read called ‘Active Topics’ and it will reveal a smorgasbord of options!