Making a good fist of fasting

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Nika 10 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Hi

I’ve been doing this for 3 months so thought it was time I stopped lurking.

I do zero cal fasts Mondays and Thursdays; have had 2 weeks off for holidays.

I’ve learnt so much from everyone on the forum, especially long term fasters, so I haven’t panicked when I’ve gained some weeks or now that I’m stuck at 10 stone for a bit. Also many thanks to USA and others who have done research on nutrition and fasting and shared the info – Dr Jason Fung’s lectures are amazing and I will follow up on the Wheat Belly and the Grain Brain too.

I’ve lost around 10 lbs so far and rediscovered my waist. Best thing so far is that my knuckles are less stiff than they were. I can make a fist when I wake up with far less resistance than I had before and I can make a fist any time later in the day with no problems at all. I must see if the knees have improved – I’ve gone off fell walking a bit because of the pain of going downhill. I don’t know if the improvement is the fasting itself or because rebooting eating twice a week gives me more control on the feed days and I’ve cut down on junk, carbs and snacking (but am far from angelic, as eating nothing is far easier than eating a little or avoiding a particular food).

So when the weight isn’t going I tell myself that my body has something more important to do than dump lard!

Sounds like you’ve had a really positive beginning barbarita, well done you! I don’t mind a bit of fell walking these days (used to hate hills when I was younger) hate walking down hill though – I just have to run. This is fine until you fail to notice a big ditch, or clump of nettles, or dry stone wall or something at the bottom of the hill. 😉

Fun times! Happy fastday.