Long-term Success

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Carolyn66 8 years ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• Hello there! I started the 5:2 diet in September 2013 and it took me six months to lose two stones. I had been two stones overweight for 18 years, and had tried (and failed on) many diets. I had just about resigned myself to being fat for the rest of my life. The 5:2 has been miraculous for me.
    I have been maintaining my healthy weight for over two years now, and now wear size 12 clothes… I used to be a size 16/18.
    I have 500 days on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and eat whatever I like the rest of the time. I weigh myself every Saturday morning, and text myself the result. If I’ve put on a pound or two, I simply add in another 500 day or cut back on the pasta and crisps!
    I prefer to go all day without food now… I just have water, coffee or make a veggie Oxo ‘soup’. I do not seem to get hungry.
    In the evening I have huge amounts
    of green veg with Quorn sausages and gravy, or a prawn stir-fry. I’m also a fan of white cabbage ‘rice’ and borlotti beans.
    I love the 5:2! Thank you, Michael Mosley.

Are you Carolees ( maybe spelt wrong , sorry) from the fast day forum?
    Am impressed how well you have done- do you still need to do 2 FD even now when maintaining? Maybe you do if you are eating ‘whatever’ on the non fast days, think to lose we need to stick to TDEE- is that right?
    Thanks, susie

Hello Susie
    No, I’m not ‘carolees’, I only registered on the forum yesterday.
    Yes, I do two 500 days to maintain… we eat out at least twice a week, plus I love pinot grigio and Indian food (not on the same plate!)
    You may well be better off sticking to your TDEE all the time, I think it’s a case of just doing what works for you.
    I don’t always go mad on non-500 days… we have a lot of pulse-based dishes and have cauli or white cabbage rice on ‘normal’ days, too.