Headache started on 2nd day of fast after 16 month of 5:2

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Benefits and side effects
Headache started on 2nd day of fast after 16 month of 5:2

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  jojo58 10 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• I’ve been doing the 5:2 for 16 months now and very pleased with the results – lost 21 lb over that period and weight loss is now much smaller as I approach what I think is a stable weight for me.

However in the last few months I have started to develop painful headaches on the 2nd day of fast – usually starting about 4 or 5 am. They will disappear after my evening meal at end of 2nd day. There were no such issues in the first year.

I have tried increasing my fluid intake but that seems to make no difference, also drinking caffeine and a salty drink (yeast extract in hot water) – again none of these seem to make any difference.

The headache feels like a tension headache ie all round the base of skull above the neck and across the eyes.

I would have expected these to occur when first starting 5:2,not after doing it for a year. Could it be anything to do with the fact that my weight is stabilising and not burning as much fat as before? Any other thoughts, suggestions on how to avoid these would be most welcome.

Thanks

Hi Malcolm and Welcome to the fast diet forum

It seems really daft saying that to a 16 month veteran! and well done on your successful weight loss.

I can’t actually help with advice regarding how to cease your headaches but I’ll give you some advice I am always handing out to newbies – have a look back at the old threads. There is definitely one about headaches and there might be something there that someone else has had success with.