Fasting timing and excerçise

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  TracyJ 10 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• I am relatively new to fasting and still refining what might work best for me. My partner and I love to hike in the mountains – up to six hours per day) and I am trying to find an eating schedule that will allow me to sustain my energy throughout the day. So far I have stuck to the 5:2 eating breakfast and dinner. But then I find that I run out of energy for hiking just after 12:30 or so. I’m wondering if the fast would be just as effective if I ate at say 11 am and then again at 4:00 or 5:00 pm. That woild mean having my 500 calories closer together and longer fasting on either end. Hopefully it would also provide me with energy when I most need it. I would be really grateful for any feedback!

hello, how and when you have your 500 cals is up to you, do whatever suits you best xx

Brad Pilons book on Eat-Stop-Eat (another intermittent fasting plan) has a section on fasting and physical performance and a couple of references to scientific research. Pilons conclusion of the research is:
    “Fasting is not advised preceding long-length endurance events [he here means marathons or Ironman-style triathlons], or during the training of elite athletes if the training involves multiple workouts each day, and where performance is the number one priority over body composition. But for everyone else the combination of fasting and exercise may be a potent way to lose body fat and maintain muscle mass”.

According to this you need not worry. I used to bring salted almonds and 85% dark chocolate as a rescue snack, but now – after 3 months – I do not have any symptoms from fasting for less than 18 hours.

Thank you for your input! I guess I need to give my body some time to adjust to its new regime.

I have lots of energy on the morning of the first day of fasting & so I strength train.