Dealing with stomach acid

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  atcgirl 8 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• I’ve been doing 5:2 since September 2015. I had to go to my GP with severe stomach and lower abdominal pains the other day and she diagnosed an excess of acid in my gut and prescribed omeprazole for a month. She said it was likely being caused by a combination of stress and going too long between meals (I’ve never mentioned 5:2 to her).

The stress should go by the end of Feb when my wedding is over. But I am prone to stress generally. I REALLY want to keep doing 5:2, it’s the only diet I’ve ever been able to stick to – I’ve only got half a stone to lose to get to my goal weight, but then I also want to do 6:1 for the rest of my life for the health benefits (I’ve got a few reasons to fear cancer!). On fast days I’ve been going all day on just one or two cups of tea (no sugar) and then eating the rest of my calories at my evening meal. If I eat during the day I get too hungry.

I think maybe I should try and stick to pure protein snacks during the day? It would give my stomach acid something to work on, and unlike carbs, shouldn’t give me hunger pangs? Or should I quit the diet altogether?

Anyone got any suggestions?

I am fully aware that you can eat whatever you like during the day on 5:2 as long as you keep within your calorie limit – but for me this means I get too hungry and don’t actually lose any weight. I only started losing weight and not going mad from hunger when I didn’t eat all day.

I have some heavy whipping cream and a bit of coconut oil (mix in blender) in my coffee in the morning. Similar to bulletproof coffee or Wild Diet fatty coffee, under 100 calories, really yummy and gives you good energy but I do not use expensive ingredients.