Alternate day fasting

This topic contains 28 replies, has 20 voices, and was last updated by  Tess.going.fit 7 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)

• On my fifth day of alternate day fasting.
    Woke up looking forward to my fast. Always have more energy, especially towards the end of the day.
    No headaches, dizziness or major hunger pangs. I drink lots of water!
    Also I don’t count calories at all on my off days or think about food in a critical way. I just enjoy my day!

I am hoping to do the same thing… started today! 1st fasting day will be on Monday though!

@splashabs surprisingly refreshing. Going lower carb on feed days. (Not carb free!).
    Do let me know how you get on!
    If you started today how is the next fast day Monday though? Bit confused lol

I’m a 41 year old female who started 5:2 on September 4. I’ve been doing it faithfully for about 2-1/2 months now. I never cheat on my fast days, although I do find them difficult, but I stick to it. I often get headaches, so I’m trying to up my water intake and drink a zero calorie “energy drink,” hoping the electrolytes will help. I watch what I eat on feed days — not counting calories, but being conscious of portions and eating whole foods, nothing processed. I exercise every day: cardio, walking, yoga, light weight training. In 2-1/2 months, I’ve lost 8.8 lbs, which is a bit demoralizing because I feel like it should be coming off much faster. It’s never been a consistent loss. Some weeks are 1 lb., some .5 lbs., some weeks I gain. Last week, I fasted 4 days in a row. I do not recommend this, and it’s obviously not sustainable, but I was desperate for a “big loss” (2 lbs?) and wanted to see what would happen. I lost .6 lbs. Very tough to take. I’m considering alternate day fasting, or at least doing Monday-Wed-Friday. Any thoughts?

Hi Jenny: