After 1+ yr of 5:2, still very tired on fast days

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Benefits and side effects
After 1+ yr of 5:2, still very tired on fast days

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  nigorahon 9 years ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

• Hi, I know that some people report feeling more energetic on fast days while others feel much more lethargic..I happen to belong to the latter camp.

I’ve been doing 5:2 for 1 yr 4 months and have successfully lost 35 pounds, gained a few and am maintaining now. Problem is, I still feel VERY tired on fast days although I don’t feel that hungry. Just yesterday I had a fast day and was knocked out (unwillingly!) in the afternoon for 4 hours even though I had proper sleep the previous night. Quite productive, I would say. :/

It wasn’t that much of a problem to me while losing weight but now that I’m maintaining, the lack of energy on fast days is getting irritating and it’s not getting better. If I am to keep this up for the rest of my life, I hope to be able to handle my fast days better!

Hope someone can help me out! Other facts about me – I’m 27 years old, have normal blood sugar according to a medical checkup last mth, and my BMI is currently 19-20. On my fast days, I usually have tea/coffee/milk with fruit for lunch and something more substantial for dinner.

I’d say you need to start the day with something more substantial. Get some protein first thing in the morning – boiled eggs are perfect. Since watching the Horizon Special: ‘What’s The Right Diet For You?’ I’ve being doing this and it has definitely helped. Here’s a sample of my daily regime:
    Breakfast: boiled medium egg
    Mid-morning: tangerine
    Lunchtime: CalBisc 100 (or medium banana)
    Mid-afternoon: apple
    Teatime: smoked salmon (50g) with salad