Advice please!

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Apricot 7 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Hi! This is a little long I apologise but any advice would be greatly appreciated. I started the 5:2 about 2 years ago and loved it, I lost about 7lbs over 7 weeks so was very happy. After this I went through a breakup and lost another 7 lbs so no longer need to do the 5:2 for weight loss so stopped. Last year I had put around 7lbs back on so decided to do the 4:3 to lose it, I lost 6lbs in 6 weeks which again I was very happy about. After a very over indulgent holiday in South America I put the weight back on. I have been doing the 4:3 again for 6 weeks and haven’t moved any weight in the slightest. I also try and do an 18:6 eating window on non fast days so I don’t over indulge. I work in the dance and fitness industry so work out and run a lot during the week so can’t add anymore exercise into my week. I love the fast diet but am starting to get a little frustrated as it is not working as successfully as previous times where the loss was muxh easier.

Basically the 5:2 diet tricks the body into thinking it really isn’t on a reduced calorie diet. Eat normally, eat less only twice per week. Third time around your body isn’t falling for the same trick again. It has reduced your metabolic rate to compensate for the reduced calories!! Try this, it might work. Go back to 5:2, but the 2 fast days are REAL fasts. Water only. Yes its tough but its do-able. What have you got to lose? What youre doing isn’t working. By the way I used to do 5:2 water fasts and now do maintenance 6:1 water fasts. Its not as hard as it seems.

I’m no nutrition expert so I feel uncomfortable giving any kind of diet advice, but you may want to recheck the amount of calories you’re eating on non fast days. You lose weight by burning more calories than you consume.