Advice/ needed on length between meals on fast days for maximum health benefits

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Science of intermittent fasting
Advice/ needed on length between meals on fast days for maximum health benefits

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  TracyJ 10 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

• I have read in a lot of the literature about this diet that longer periods between meals help you to gain the maximum health benefits, but very few expand upon this. I have been doing the 5:2 diet for 9 months – my weight loss has plateaued now for a few months(having gone from about 85kg to 77kg) – but my main reason for doing the diet is for the health benefits.

On one other forum I read that you need at least one period of 12-14 hours of fasting within your day to gain the health benefits. This it said is due to the fact that 10-12 hours is the time it takes for the body to clear its store of glucogen fuel from the previous meal, then fat stores can start to be drawn upon in activity and the body has also had a break from producing hormones like insulin to cope with food metabolism and has had a chance to go into ‘repair mode’.

Does anyone know if this is correct? Given the amount of store put on the health benefits (as much as weight loss) for this diet it surprises me that there is not more detail on this generally – and particularly in the main part of this official web site.

Hey Jonathan! I can only speak of things I’ve heard, read and from my own experience – I’m not an expert. But I’m happy to give you my 2 cents on this.

As I see it, 16-18 hours gives you most health benefits you get from fasting. After this there are no read added benefits besides perhaps some extra fat burning. I take this info from several sites and from my martial arts coach, who also incorporates IF from time to time to shed some pounds after an indulgent holiday or something.