45, female and new to fasting, couple questions, please help.

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Welcome to The Fast Diet and Exercise forums
45, female and new to fasting, couple questions, please help.

This topic contains 13 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Niquita 7 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)

• I have just started fasting about a week ago. With My first fast ever I had the intention to do a 16:8 and ended up doing a 23 hour fast ending the day with a small meal. It went well, mug better than expected. Then I started doing the 16:8 schedule daily but then this week I added two days of a 24 hour fast. I started training again, my intention is to do 1 hour weights 3x a week plus at least 30′ cardio. Is this an ok
    Schedule to follow for a beginner? 16:8 daily plus Monday’s and Thursday’s 22-24 hour fast?
    I would like to lose at least 20 pounds and try to get toned through exercise. I’m 5’3″ and weigh about 165 pounds. Thanks for any help!

Hi Niquita,

That sounds like a very sensible plan.

Good luck 🙂

Hi Niquita,

5:2 fasting days are from after your evening meal on say Sunday, then through the next day Monday, Monday night and you break your fast on Tuesday. During the day e.g. Monday in this example you eat up to 500cals at any timing through the day. Some eat three tiny meals, some 2 a little bigger, some do 1 evening meal with all their calories then, and some have nothing at all. The fast lasts from Sunday evening till Tuesday morning so a 5:2 fast lasts about 36hrs. So… What you did on your first fasting day sounds like 23:1 i.e. Eating in a 1 hr window. If your small meal was under 500 cals then your fast actually continued through to the next morning, because with such a small amount of calories the fasting effect still happens even though you’ve eaten a little.

There is confusion on the forum about what is a fast and how long it goes.