Non fast day question

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Curvy Kate 10 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

• I’m new to 5:2 and have completed my 6th fast day without any weight loss or loosening of clothes yet, so a little disappointed. I know it’s early days and have read lots of the forum postings on giving it time and not overeating on non- fast days. I wanted to understand more from people who are successfully losing weight whether they strictly adhere to the TDEE calories (I.e. don’t exceed) them in general? I’m interested since I assume that many people who do 5:2 need to lose weight because of a habit of overeating and so wonder whether those losing weight are much stricter than me and automatically change to TDEE eating?
    I’m eating more than my TDEE on non fast days but not pigging out etc.
    Really want to get a better feel for 5:2 so would love to hear your thoughts! Thank.

Hi Curvy Kate, saw your post just before I head up to bed. I have been on this lifestyle diet since end of Jan this year. Due to over indulging I have put wieght on and stuck several times but have still lost a total of 18 lb aprox to date. I am well aware that over indulging on non fast days negates and increases my weight from time to time. I believe in this lifestyle and slowly am changing my eating habits honed over 40 yrs. Your lack of weight loss may well be due to over eating on your non fast days. May I suggest that for a couple of weeks you keep a daily diary of your eating habits, feelings, experiences etc. It will be a great help. I do it from time to time and it identifies where I need to improve.
    We are all different, do what works for you and stick with it. As a woman you should eat at least 3000 cals less a week on this lifestyle, this almost equates to a loss of one pound a week so you need to be aware of your non fast food day intake.
    Good luck.