Just Joined, Linda Gruchy

This topic contains 22 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  ChrissieinBrittany 10 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)

• I thought I’d better introduce myself as I have just joined to comment.

I am an author with a degree in Biological sciences, and in interest in health and fitness.

I have been doing variations on intermittent fasting since 6th October when I joined Kate Harrison’s 5:2 Facebook Group. I found it via a fellow author who had been posting good successes. I watched YouTube versions of the Horizon programme (and the HIT one)and was convinced that this was the way, particularly as it addressed some sneaking suspicions I had about insulin.

Kate’s group started to grow, and we found ourselves reiterating the advice time and again, partly because of the ephemeral nature of Facebook, so we suggested that Kate write a book of our experiences because there was nothing at the time. This came out at the beginning of December and proved to be very successful.

When Michael Mosley and Mimi Spencer’s book came out in January this year, I pre-ordered the book, read it, reviewed it, and it’s one of the books I recommend alongside Kate’s. I think they are both very good books and complement each other.

Meanwhile, in Kate’s group, I found myself explaining how the body works re exercise, fat burning and carbohydrate burning, using easy-to-understand analogies so asked the group if they would like me to update a booklet I wrote years ago when I was working in a gym. They said yes, it would be helpful. Of course, it took longer to update that I thought because much of it was out of date, but I published that as an e-book towards the end of February. I need to update it slightly before putting it into a paper version. I never intended it as an “instead of” Kate’s book, or Mosley & Spencer’s book, but as an “as well as”.