How do you eat healthy the rest of the time?

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Weight loss
How do you eat healthy the rest of the time?

This topic contains 9 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  LA Chubster 8 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

• Hi I just started 5:2 for maintenance after I reached my goal weight doing 4:3. I’m having a lot of trouble maintaining though! 4:3 is hard because you have to fast alternate days during the week but I seem to have no control on 5:2. I can’t seem to eat healthy at all! Does anyone have any tips or advice on structure? How do I eat healthier? Im having a lot of trouble with overeating biscuits, crisps and chocolate!

Hi there!

I am a relative newbie to fasting but I find eating things that are a bit higher in natural saturated fats like eggs, avocados, nuts etc help me a lot!

Hi there, thinking ahead, planning, is my best tip. Menu planning, shopping,cooking, getting things out of the freezer etc so there is always a good balanced, portioned meal to enjoy.

I find some of these little rules help me too:
    1. Don’t eat after 8:30 pm
    2. Have a meal, as much as you want, and then wait 3 hours before you eat again.
    3. Have the sensible portion, but if you really want seconds, have a cuppa first and so it is 30 mins after eating before you make the final decision about whether you are full enough.

This stuff is important for being a healthy normal eater when you have got to the weight you are happy with and want to maintain it. It is an important journey! Good wishes fellow traveler!

I found the beauty of 5:2 was that it retrained my eating habits, so over time I largely lost my sweet tooth, I cut out, and stopped craving, sugar and simple carbs, and started craving savoury foods.

It sounds though that you’ve done 4:3 to lose weight but carried on eating (unhealthy foods and/or overeating?) as ‘normal’ on intervening days?